Tweed Takes Chair of Ag. Committee

Merv Tweed has been named the new chairman of the agriculture and agri-food House of Commons standing committee. Tweed, the Conservative MP for Brandon-Souris, had been the chairman of the Transport, Infrastructure and Communities committee until recently. He will now head the committee that debates bills, and focuses on expenses and activities for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, the Canadian Grain Commission, the Farm Products Council of Canada, the Canadian Dairy Commission and Farm Credit Canada. The committee also deals with activities of the Canadian Wheat Board and the Pest Management Regulatory Agency.

On his appointment Tweed said “I think it’s going to be an opportunity to see some of our Manitoba ideas more front and centre, but in the same breath, we’re really trying to develop policies and good laws that enhance agriculture across Canada.” The last prairie MP to hold the chairmanship was current Ag. Minister Gerry Ritz.


Leave a Reply